Mortal Kombat Legacy Review-Episode 1

A girl like me actually likes Mortal Kombat? What?! ūüėČ Yes it’s true I have a weak spot for anything Mortal Kombat, even the old movies that are kind of bad. lol. Truth is I love interesting stories, and fascinating characters. Mortal Kombat has them all! Plust they fight and who doesn’t like a good fight sequence?! Nothing like a good fighting game¬†/ movie to relieve some stress! ūüėõ Oh, and don’t even get me started on the EPIC Mortal Kombat theme song. Seriously…it’s genius. Whoever came up with that beat deserves an award! Alright I veered a little off topic,¬†discussing ¬†Mortal Kombat Legacy is what I was supposed to be doing..heh.

¬†I will yell “SPOILER ALERT” to be nice. If you haven’t seen this webisode yet,recommend that you do! Everyone has their own opinions and I¬†respect that. Check it out for ¬†yourself and we can argue about all sorts of Mortal Kombat stuff ūüėČ Anyway, on to the review!

I had seen trailers of this web series around the internet for a couple of months. Many speculated some wonderful¬†soul had decided to reboot the Mortal Kombat movie franchise, but come to find out it is actually a web series! I can’t say I was too thrilled about the idea. Web series are generally short lived, and to be honest I was really looking forward to a new MK movie! So needless to say I was already ticked off to begin with. However being the Mortal Kombat lover I am, I had to check out the webisodes.

¬†I was pleasently surprised when the first webisode featured Sonya and Jax. Gotta love a strong women who can hold her own right? I wasn’t exactly thrilled to see Jerry Ryan playing Sonya. I thought that the role should have went to a younger gal, but I suppose they wanted Sonya to¬†be a¬†little more mature and experienced. Whatever works I suppose. Kano as usual is a complete jerk, and we finally get to see why he has to have that metal face plate and that crazy red eye. All I can tell¬†you is that he didn’t have it before! heh. Jax is a complete badass. Throwing puches and giving us viewers a little taste of what is yet to come. The plot for this episode is nothing new. Special Ops team spying on criminal, then engage with criminial in an epic showdown, good guy wins for the most part. (Yes Kano still lives) The dialouge was decent and easy to follow. The one thing that did impress me though was the set. Considering this isn’t some over the top Hollywood production they did a FINE job! Bravo to the set designers. Overall, the webisode is pretty interesting. It doesn’t stray to far from the original stories, but rather it gives it a new and¬†interesting kick. Don’t just take my word for it! Check it out for yourself!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

